Meat

I’ve been unable to control my appetite this week and it’s been all after 6pm. Needless to say, I’ve gained a couple of pounds this week despite my workouts. I reflected back on this past week and I can pinpoint two distinct reasons why this week was such a huge setback:

1. I hadn’t slept much all week long. I’ve been getting only 4-5 hours of sleep each night so I’m exhausted and moody all day. I didn’t have much of an appetite all day because I never stopped drinking fluids with caffeine to keep me awake. So, when I come home, I relax and eat my face off.

2. I hadn’t eaten any meat in over a week. I’m not a vegetarian nor do I plan on ever being one. However, I have mentioned that my meat consumption has decreased significantly since moving out. This has been completely unintentional. I think I just don’t have a lot of meat around the apartment and I never really plan out what I’m going to eat. I just kind of throw all the healthy shit I have lying around and whip up something that tastes good in that moment. The meat that I do have available to me is all white. I can’t remember the last time I ate red meat. I’ve been getting plenty of protein through eggs, beans, quinoa, etc., so that’s not the issue. I’m clearly just depriving my body of something it craves and I’m trying to make up for it in another way.

So, what do I need to do to make improvements this week? I’m going to try really hard to get to bed at a decent hour and get enough sleep. I’m going to need to make conscious efforts to wind down so that I can fall asleep faster and STAY asleep (which has been a HUGE problem for me lately). I’m also going to need to be more conscientious of my protein intake and its sources. I’m going to treat myself to some delicious meat every now and then.

One positive that I’ve noticed this week is that even though I’ve put on a couple of pounds, I’ve definitely gotten stronger. I can handle more difficult workouts and make them last longer. Now, I just need to get my eating under control (which I guess has been my issue since day one).

Leave a Reply

